Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 19-3952    Version: 1 Name: 2019 Fire Department Meritorious Awards
Type: Agenda Item Status: Received
File created: 1/11/2019 In control: City Council
On agenda: 2/4/2019 Final action: 2/4/2019
Title: Presentation of meritorious awards to Fire Department employees.
Attachments: 1. List of award winners


Presentation of meritorious awards to Fire Department employees.



The purpose of the annual Fire Department meritorious awards presentation is to recognize members of the Fire Department, and employees of the City of Mesquite for providing outstanding service to the citizens of Mesquite and the Mesquite Fire Department.


The following will be recognized:


Fire Officer of the Year - Lieutenant David Ivie


Paramedic of the Year - Firefighter/Paramedic Daniel Kirk


Firefighter of the Year - Driver Engineer/Paramedic Elliot Howard


Eight lifesaving awards will be presented to 42 firefighters representing 10 companies and 5 fire stations. The Fire Service Commendation award will be awarded to 15 firefighters recognizing their outstanding performance on an emergency scene. One firefighter will also be awarded the Department’s Merit Award for his outstanding service to the City while assigned to modified duty. Three Mesquite Fire Corps volunteers will also be recognized this year for their continued work in supporting the Fire Department in achieving its mission. Due to travel plans, two of the Fire Corps volunteers are not able to attend this meeting and will be recognized at a future City Council Meeting.



List of award winners



Mark Kerby


Head of Department

Mark Kerby