## MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS ADVISORY COMMITIEE MEETING, HELD AT 6:30 P.M., FEBRUARY 12, 2018, 757 NORTH GALLOWAY AVENUE, MESQUITE, TEXAS

Present: Chairman Ronald Abraham, Vice Chair Mike Potter, Commissioners Dharma

Dharmarajan, Jim Andrews, Sergio Garcia, Sherry Williams, and Yolanda Shepard

**Absent: Jennifer Vidler** 

Staff: Interim Director of Planning and Development Services Jeff Armstrong,

Manager of Planning and Zoning Garrett Langford, Assistant City Attorney

Cindy Steiner, Senior Administrative Secretary Devanee Winn

## I. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE JULY 10, 2017, MEETING.

A motion was made by Mr. Sergio Garcia and seconded by Ms. Sherry Williams to approve the minutes of July 10, 2017. The motion passed unanimously.

## II. REVIEW AND CONSIDER THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE SEMI-ANNUAL REPORT FOR PERIOD ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2017.

Interim Director Jeff Armstrong presented the semiannual report. Contents of the report and general information about impact fees were discussed by the Committee. Ms. Williams asked where the money comes to fix roads in area B due to the fact that the money from the impact fees are so low. Mr. Armstrong answered with an explanation of how the money is allocated. Ms. Shepard asked if we collect impact fees from development in other cities in areas that overlap into service areas A, B, and C. Mr. Armstrong answered no. Mr. Andrews asked if the impact fees go to the maintenance of roads in the ETJ areas. Mr. Armstrong answered no. Roadway impact fees cannot be collected in the ETJ. Mr. Armstrong explained if the City of Mesquite annexed the ETJ areas, then at that time, the City could do a study and modify the Impact fee ordinance.

There were no other questions for staff.

A motion was made by Ms. Williams and seconded by Ms. Shepard to accept the semi-annual report and forward it to the City Council. The motion passed unanimously.

## III. ADJOURNMENT

| Τl | ne | meetii | ng ad | journed | at 7 | ':0 | 0 | p.m. |  |
|----|----|--------|-------|---------|------|-----|---|------|--|
|    |    |        |       |         |      |     |   |      |  |

| Ronald Abraham, Chairma | n |
|-------------------------|---|
|                         |   |
|                         |   |