

City of Mesquite, Texas

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-3248 Version: 1 Name: 2018 Fire Department Meritorious Awards

Type:Agenda ItemStatus:PassedFile created:1/18/2018In control:City CouncilOn agenda:2/5/2018Final action:2/5/2018

Title: Presentation of meritorious awards to Fire Department employees.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. List of Award Winners.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/5/2018	1	City Council	Approved	

Presentation of meritorious awards to Fire Department employees.

The purpose of the annual Fire Department meritorious awards presentation is to recognize members of the Fire Department and employees of the City of Mesquite for providing outstanding service to the citizens of Mesquite and the Mesquite Fire Department.

The following will be recognized:

Attendance Merit Bar - Captain Gene Zwillenberg - 6-year perfect attendance

Chief's Award - Assistant Chief Larry Spurgin Captain Brian Staples Lieutenant Darrel Evans

Fire Officer of the Year - Deputy Chief Bruce Kunz

Firefighter of the Year - Firefighter/Paramedic Aaron Hall

Two lifesaving awards will be presented to 10 firefighters representing four companies and three fire stations.

Also presented this year will be the Departments' revamped Wellness and Fitness Initiative. Thirty-one firefighters performed at or above the optimal cut for their age group during the 2017 physical agility testing (PAT). Deputy Chief Bruce Kunz will provide a brief overview of the program and read the names of all 31 firefighters that received the PAT Fitness Bar for 2017.

Attachment(s)

List of award winners

Drafter

Mark Kerby

File #: 18-3248, Version: 1

Head of Department Mark Kerby