

City of Mesquite, Texas

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-5254 Version: 1 Name: Appointment - County Reps to Spradley Farms

TIRZ

Type: Agenda Item Status: Passed

File created:1/26/2021In control:City CouncilOn agenda:3/1/2021Final action:3/1/2021

Title: Consider appointment of Ken Cates and Skeet Phillips as members of the Board of Directors of

Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms), representing

Kaufman County, for two-year terms to expire March 1, 2023.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. County Order Appointing Two Members to Spradley Farms TIRZ Board, 2. Amendment to Tax

Participation Agreement

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/1/2021	1	City Council	Approved	Pass

Consider appointment of Ken Cates and Skeet Phillips as members of the Board of Directors of Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms), representing Kaufman County, for two-year terms to expire March 1, 2023.

On August 25, 2020, the Kaufman County Commissioners' Court approved a Tax Participation Agreement to participate in Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas, (Spradley Farms) and the City Council passed Resolution No. 43-2020 on September 21, 2020, to approve the Agreement. One of the provisions of this Agreement was to allow the County to appoint two members to the TIRZ Board of Directors.

On December 7, 2020, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 4833 to amend Ordinance No. 4713 that created the TIRZ to change the composition of the TIRZ board from seven (7) members all appointed by the City Council to nine (9) members, with two (2) members appointed by the County in accordance with the Tax Participation Agreement.

At their January 12, 2021, regular meeting, the Kaufman County Commissioners' Court approved an order appointing Commissioners Ken Cates and Skeet Phillips as the County's designated representation on the TIRZ board.

City staff has confirmed the two County appointees are eligible to serve, and in accordance with the Tax Participation Agreement, as amended, and Chapter 311 of the Tax Code, shall be appointed for terms of two years. Their terms may be staggered from other members of the TIRZ board, which include Mayor Bruce Archer and Councilmembers Dan Aleman, Tandy Boroughs, Kenny Green, Robert Miklos, B.W. Smith and Sherry Wisdom.

Recommended/Desired Action

City staff recommends the appointment of Ken Cates and Skeet Phillips.

File #: 21-5254, Version: 1

Attachments

County Order Appointing Two Members to TIRZ Board Amendment to Tax Participation Agreement

Drafter

Ted Chinn

Head of Department

Ted Chinn