

City of Mesquite, Texas

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-5780 Version: 1 Name: Appoint Chair to TIRZ Boards

Type:Agenda ItemStatus:PassedFile created:11/30/2021In control:City CouncilOn agenda:12/6/2021Final action:12/6/2021

Title: Appoint Daniel Alemán, Jr. as Chairman of the Board of Directors on the following boards: Mesquite

Rodeo City Reinvestment Zone Number One, City of Mesquite, Texas; Towne Centre Reinvestment Zone Number Two, City of Mesquite, Texas; Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Seven, City of Mesquite, Texas; Gus Thomasson Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Eight, City of Mesquite, Texas; Town East/Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Nine, City of Mesquite; Reinvestment Zone Number Ten, City of Mesquite, Texas (Polo Ridge); Reinvestment Zone Number Eleven, City of Mesquite, Texas (Heartland Town Center); Reinvestment Zone Number Twelve, City of Mesquite, Texas (IH-20 Business Park); Reinvestment Zone Number Fourteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Alcott Logistics Station); and Reinvestment Zone Number Fifteen, City of Mesquite,

Texas (Solterra) for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2022.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/6/2021	1	City Council	Approved	Pass

Appoint Daniel Alemán, Jr. as Chairman of the Board of Directors on the following boards: Mesquite Rodeo City Reinvestment Zone Number One, City of Mesquite, Texas; Towne Centre Reinvestment Zone Number Two, City of Mesquite, Texas; Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Seven, City of Mesquite, Texas; Gus Thomasson Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Eight, City of Mesquite, Texas; Town East/Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Nine, City of Mesquite; Reinvestment Zone Number Ten, City of Mesquite, Texas (Polo Ridge); Reinvestment Zone Number Eleven, City of Mesquite, Texas (Heartland Town Center); Reinvestment Zone Number Twelve, City of Mesquite, Texas (IH-20 Business Park); Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms); Reinvestment Zone Number Fourteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Alcott Logistics Station); and Reinvestment Zone Number Fifteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Solterra) for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2022.

The City Council adopted the following Ordinances establishing Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones:

Ord. No. 3138 on 2-3-97 - Mesquite Rodeo City Reinvestment Zone Number One

Ord. No. 3257 on 9-21-98 - Towne Centre Reinvestment Zone Number Two

Ord. No. 4401 on 11-2-15 - Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Seven

Ord. No. 4402 on 11-2-15 - Gus Thomasson Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Eight

Ord. No. 4466 on 12-19-16 - Town East/Skyline Tax Increment Finance Reinvestment Zone No. Nine

Ord. No. 4525 on 12-4-17 - Reinvestment Zone Number Ten, City of Mesquite, Texas (Polo Ridge)

Ord. No. 4532 on 12-18-17 - Reinvestment Zone Number Eleven, City of Mesquite, Texas (Heartland Town Center)

Ord. No. 4579 on 7-2-18 - Reinvestment Zone Number Twelve, City of Mesquite, Texas (IH-20

File #: 21-5780, Version: 1

Business Park)

Ord. No. 4713 on 9-16-19 - Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms)

Ord. No. 4853 on 4-5-21 - Reinvestment Zone Number Fourteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Alcott Logistics Station)

Ord. No. 4869 on 6-7-21 - Reinvestment Zone Number Fifteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Solterra)

In accordance with Section 311.009(f) of the Tax Increment Financing Act, the City Council must appoint one member of each TIRZ Board to serve as Chairman for a one-year term beginning January 1 of the following year. The current Chairman of the Board for each TIRZ is former Mayor Bruce Archer.

Recommended/Desired Action

Staff recommends the appointment of Daniel Alemán, Jr. as the Chairman for each of the eleven TIRZ Boards for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2022.

Drafter

Jimmy Martin

Head of Department

Cindy L. Smith