

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	23-6	6481	Version:	1	Name:	Reappointment - County Reps to TIRZ	Spradley Farms
Туре:	Age	nda Item			Status:	Passed	
File created:	3/3/2	2023			In control:	City Council	
On agenda:	3/20	/2023			Final action:	3/20/2023	
Title:	Appointment of Mike Hunt (Position No. 8) and Tommy Moore (Position No. 9) as members of the Board of Directors of Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms), representing Kaufman County, for two-year terms to expire March 1, 2025.						
Sponsors:							
Indexes:							
Code sections:							
Attachments:	1. Amendment to Tax Participation Agreement						
Date	Ver.	Action By			Act	on	Result
3/20/2023	1	City Cou	ncil		Ар	proved	Pass

Appointment of Mike Hunt (Position No. 8) and Tommy Moore (Position No. 9) as members of the Board of Directors of Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas (Spradley Farms), representing Kaufman County, for two-year terms to expire March 1, 2025.

On August 25, 2020, the Kaufman County Commissioners' Court approved a Tax Participation Agreement to participate in Reinvestment Zone Number Thirteen, City of Mesquite, Texas, (Spradley Farms) and the City Council passed Resolution No. 43-2020 on September 21, 2020, to approve the Agreement. One of the provisions of this Agreement was to allow the County to appoint two members to the TIRZ Board of Directors.

On December 7, 2020, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 4833 to amend Ordinance No. 4713 that created the TIRZ to change the composition of the TIRZ board from seven (7) members all appointed by the City Council to nine (9) members, with two (2) members appointed by the County in accordance with the Tax Participation Agreement.

At their March 7, 2023, regular meeting, the Kaufman County Commissioners' Court approved an order appointing Commissioners Mike Hunt and Tommy Moore as the County's designated representation on the TIRZ board.

City staff has confirmed the two County appointees are eligible to serve, and in accordance with the Tax Participation Agreement, as amended, and Chapter 311 of the Tax Code, shall be appointed for terms of two years. Their terms may be staggered from other members of the TIRZ board, which include Mayor Daniel Alemán, Jr. and Councilmembers Debbie Anderson, Tandy Boroughs, Jeff Casper, Kenny Green, B.W. Smith and Jennifer Vidler.

Recommended/Desired Action

City staff recommends the appointment of Mike Hunt (Position No. 8) and Tommy Moore (Position No. 9) for terms to expire March 1, 2025.

File #: 23-6481, Version: 1

Attachments

Amendment to Tax Participation Agreement

Drafter Ted Chinn

Head of Department Ted Chinn